Women of Distinction

Jewish organizations in the community are asked to nominate a woman who exemplifies the mission of their organization through her leadership and commitment. Awarded annually the ‘Women of Distinction’ Program honors exemplary volunteerism and leadership.

Beth Israel Women of Distinction:

2007 – Delyse Axinn

2008 – Delyse Axinn

2009 – Marsha Marshall

2010 – Ellen Stein Z”L

2011– Cyrille Cobe

2012 – Idalea Rubin

2013 – Sandra Hurwitz

2014 – Nina Malinak

2015 – Rochelle Lafer

2016 – Joanne Sudman

2017 – Sandy Zians

2018 – Barbara Nova

2019 Marlene Spiegal

2020 Robin Kitzmiller

2021 Diane Posner

From the time Diane joined Beth Israel in 2014 she has been a valued member of the Temple leadership team.  She has served on the Board of Directors of the Temple as well as Sisterhood.  She has brought her financial acumen to the positions of Financial Secretary of the Temple as well as Treasurer of the Temple and Sisterhood and currently serves as membership Chair of Sisterhood.  Her understanding of finances and attention to detail contributes to the successful financial operation of the Temple.

Diane has been an active member of the Temples in her previous places of residence (St. Petersburg, FL and Hauppauge, NY) and has been involved in numerous community organizations including serving as a volunteer at Good Samaritan Hospital, East Islip, NY, Nottingham HOA, National Committee to Preserve Social Security and Medicare, World Jewish Congress, American Section, and several Veterans and K9 Groups.

Diane has two adult children, Hal and Robert Posner and two grandsons Andrew and Sean Posner.


Diane is an invaluable member of the Beth Israel family, and her dedication and commitment makes her deserving of the title “Woman of Distinction.”